Kids · Picture Post · Random

Sometimes I lie awake at night and I ask, “Why me?”, then a voice answers “Nothing personal, your name just happened to come up.” Charlie Brown

Don’t you just love Charlie Brown?

My posting is rather sporadic, but since we are talking about December here I forgive myself.

Thanks self, I feel better.

My Nikon Girl. We like to match our fave cam brand here:P

Hamsterveele!

Interestingly enough she has finally found an escape route from here glass tank which I find absolutely amazing, she is really holding up the “Hamsters are escape artists” banner and if I where a hamster I would be proud, of course I am also fairly certain my sweet kittens who feign perpetual drowsiness are well aware of the situation. I have told them in no uncertain terms that The Fuzz is  not an acceptable appetizer. The argument for their side was, unfortunately, very  moving, especially as we have a strict anti-rodent policy, they know it, I know it, The Fuzz has been informed of her rights. I do not know if I should be worried about the growing conflict or if I should grab some popcorn and watch my own Disney animal movie unfold……….Don’t tell Felicity I said that.

 

I hesitate to mention too much about what is going on with Alice (She is standing next to the Christmas tree in the above picture.) I took the picture because it was one of the rare times she comes downstairs (or downstep if you wish to be technical). My heart breaks for her. We have become so used to this new Alice that we all carry on while she watches from the side lines. She has seen a doctor. She will be seeing a therapist next. In some ways her symptoms or OCD issues are extreme, her anxiety level high and while she continues to have good days she grows progressively worse. Joff is much better at walking her through things, praying with her and helping her understand that her fears can be explained. The good news is that the doctor is positive that her OCD was triggered by something very traumatic, real or imagined.( If you can call that good news) She has a better chance at relinquishing her OCD  through therapy.

Well I guess I did not mean to put so much out there.

Katie will be ten in a few weeks and I am realizing in my rather slow and plodding sort of way that years of babies and toddlers has left me somewhat unequipped in handling a full-fledged kid who is entering the realm of double digits. I suppose that this is the way it will always be, Katie as the eldest must be my guinea pig, my laboratory experiment. Seriously I am back to wishing for a handbook in dealing with these matters. Part of Katie’s problem is that she is insanely good. And is she is not as amused by children’s games as she once was. And she is not a reader. If she would read, that would solve many problems, primarily the “I’m bored” problem. She is an artist, but frankly there are only so many pictures she can draw in a day and only so much time I will allow her on the computer and since she already is excellent at doing her chores and others besides, I will not and cannot give her chores for the boring parts of her day. It is a predicament.

Not a bad one, just another puzzler to keep me busy.

I almost convinced my girls to read the Fablehaven series (Which I just finished plowing through) but they are only interested if I read it to them. Which I will although I wish they would read it themselves.

My children are dazzled at my reading capabilities, of course they have never seen me struggling to read John Locke’s  An essay concerning human understanding.  (With a bottle of Advil handy I once managed four pages:P) I learned to read later than normal, but once I caught onto it I was insanely and madly in love. Me on a desert island with a lifetime supply of chocolate or books? Books win hands down. I am not really picky either, although I tend to stay away from romance (to predictable) and favor something either action packed or historical. John Locke is awesome but he doesn’t count as historical:D.

I have been informed that if I will just wait it out a few of my kids will pick it up someday, although possibly not until there 30’s.

🙂

My winter explorers, tracking various critters all over the field. Mostly small rodents I hear tell, but also a skunk and maybe a small deer. Maybe.

K~

 

 

Leave a Reply

