Uncategorized

Christmas

We don’t have a lot, no more then usual and more often then not, less then that. With eight sweet children, building a house and all the costs associated with those two things, well our bank account drains out fast come pay day. Money is divided up into various categories and poof, broke again! But I am rich, in other ways. My husband has a job, my children are fed and clothed. We have a home! 

It is Christmas once again. I have made my plans, checked them twice. It is going to be tight, but I think I can do it. Along with my own family, I have a few other people I want to give to this season. I need to give. 

I am, was, was not a Christmas person. I was a Grinch.  I don’t believe in Santa. I believe in the spirit of giving, but Santa? Never have. Not as a kid, not now. 

The last couple of years have been seriously hard on my soul, so this year, I am trying to give more, because it makes me happy. If that means I miss out on gifts under the tree, who cares?  Because for me it isn’t about gifts, material stuff, which I am mostly against anyway. I am pretty picky about my personal possessions, I don’t like clutter.

I am giving in a variety of ways, giving to others because so many have given to my family in the past. And when someone makes sure that your children have a Christmas that is something that can never be repaid. Although I will try, for the rest of my life, as long as I am able, I will try.

I am so excited for Christmas. I am excited to spend the rest of the month reading Christmas stories to my children, sipping hot cocoa, making goodies for friends and family, It is exciting to watch my children sit around and marvel at the wonder of the tree, to listen to them discuss Santa and his reindeer. It is amazing to read the story of Christs birth again with my family. To share that with them.

There is magic this time of year, a magic that soothes my troubled spirit, a magic that makes me hope. I thank God. I thank God for this season, I thank God for giving his son. I thank God for his mercy. I thank God for my life.

K~

(Soon, back to more fluffy stuff. This blog is getting a little too heavy.)

Leave a Reply

