Everyday · Homeschool · Uncategorized

My morning thus far.

I went to bed last night at 2:30 am thinking I would wake up bright and early, scour my kitchen from top to bottom, shower, finish washing ALL of the laundry and finish prepping for school. Along with all the other brilliant things I normally do. I think/believe I was a bit delirious last night. I even left myself a note with a motivational quote, a note I read at 8:30 am while sipping Pepsi out of a fancy tea cup and listening to the cat hiss at me because I really do need that shower, and get this, I have children who expect things from me. Like food and stuff.

I normally make breakfast-y foods like yummy lumpy oatmeal and wonderful cinnamon pancakes for breakfast, but I was feeling wealthy last night and went out and bought cereal and milk. Waking up and not having to cook breakfast is like winning the lottery in my world.

So I didn’t have to cook, that I was nice, but I do have two toddlers who like to have their tushes changed and then I need to kick the kids off the TV and send them out to get some healthy, wholesome sunshine, I send one out with a promise, you play for two hours, (No Whining!) you can play one computer game. I read to the older kids and put some bread on to rise. And now it is nearing lunch.

I really should go shower.

It often happens that I can say that over and over all day, and still not find a moment to shower. Granted I could be bathing instead of typing but the baby has taken up running away from home and she is really fast.

We are on vacation. From school.

The problem I sometimes have with schooling my kids is the expectations, the expectations that I am failing somewhere along the line. If a teacher fails to teach or a student fails to learn in public school, the parent is not the one the lynch mobs go straight for, when you homeschool and your kid hesitates when asked by a complete stranger in the parking lot of Walmart, who was the 22nd Vice President of the US or where is Bhutan located? Well, kid better preform or I, the teacher/parent,  am in for the look of judgmental ire. I do not mind so much that my kind can’t recall who was the 22nd Vice Prezz, I mind that some busybody who really doesn’t know the answer to her/his question is calling my kid out in public.

(Breathe, maybe I needed to vent a little?)

Levi P. Morton. 22nd Vice President of the US. Also the dude who accepted the statue of Liberty from the French. The French thought he was pretty special, I think it had something to do with his amazing beard skirt.
Leave a Reply

